Golden Path – Pressure of the Light

Through the Looking Glass - this inner landscape looking out of my window one February morning, was a pain of unrequited love - there was no way through that pressure, but through!   It contains a lot of dream imagery - is the first I did in this genre - the beginning of a series which I called "Earthquake Kreutzer Ravine"

Through the Looking Glass – this inner landscape looking out of my window one February morning, was a pain of unrequited love – there was no way around that pressure, but through! It contains a lot of dream imagery – is the first I did in this genre – the beginning of a series which I called “Earthquake Kreutzer Ravine”

..

Gene Keys Journal 29 September  Today my ragbag is at work again, sewing my early openings with Hermes Trismegistos together with Gene Keys 61/62 …  make of it what you will!

Firstly:

“A well tended small garden is better than an ill-tended large garden. Both gardens are equally small when faced with the immeasurable, but unequally cared for. Take shears and prune your trees.”

C.G.Jung, The Red Book

Here (below) is Jung’s painting of his childhood vision of an inundated Europe. The story is told in Memories page 100. In The Red Book he says, “Excise myself from the cunning interpretative loops that I gave to what lies beyond me. And my knife cuts even deeper and separates me from the meanings that I conferred upon myself. I cut down to the marrow, until everything meaningful falls from me, until I am no longer as I might seem to myself, until I know only that I am without knowing what I am.

“I want to be poor and bare, and I want to stand naked before the inexorable… who neither knew nor recognised, but who lived by what lay at hand, and received by grace what lay far off.”

C.G.Jung, The Red Book:   the Three Prophecies

He means the prehistoric human being: at the same time he is burdened with the unfathomable content of the next eight hundred years up to the time when the One begins his rule. The next chapter in the Red Book is on the Gift of Magic …

..

These next three paintings are further along in my “Earthquake” series, and also arose from dream material.  I had in those days (1986) a continual solar plexus pain of life, which only “the path along” the drawing and writing, as it yielded, would ease:  there was no choice but to follow.

Now I see it very well!

A dream in which I was literally knocked off my bike and hurtled through town - Liverpool - landing in an erotic ritual labyrinth

A dream in which I was knocked off my bike and hurtled through town – Liverpool – landing in an erotic ritual labyrinth

..

And in this one … my old friend Pollock rolls a spliff:  the musicians are those I worked with – we were learning the Beethoven violin sonatas – and the daffodil was the glory of an inner “flower of knives” which opened the light through the pain of life, all the time. The coastline is North Devon, Damehole Point near Hartland.

The flute player lower right-hand corner, was a “Green man”, a kindly piper of Pan ….

Daffodil - Spring 1986

Daffodil – Spring 1986

..

Czech in London 1986 - Josef Suk plays in the Wigmore Hall, through which wash the streets of West Hampstead in waves.

Czech in London 1986 – Josef Suk plays in the Wigmore Hall, through which wash the streets of West Hampstead in waves of astral light.  My bike is tied to a lamp-post behind Fred and Miriam to the right … you can just see it.  When I drew the window in the curved wall to the left, above the piano, I experienced a strange dimensional displacement – what I drew I became.

..

The Emerald Table of Hermes – all the teaching is here.

“I speak no fiction, but only what is certain and most true.

“What is below is like the above;  and as above, so below, for the miracle of Oneness. 

“As all beings were uttered in one word, so do they all evolve diversely as One Being, by the order of Nature.

..

“The father is the Sun, the mother the Moon.  The being is carried in the belly of the wind, and the Earth is its nurse.

“It is the seed of all perfection throughout the universe.

“The power of it is realised when it is reduced to Earth.

..

“Separate Earth from the Fire, the subtle from the gross, acting with prudence, humility and good judgement.

“Ascend in your heart with deep wisdom from Earth to Heaven;  then again descend to Earth, and unite together the powers of Above and Below.  Let all ignorance and obscurity fly from you! 

“You shall find a greater fortitude than fortitude itself, for it masters any subtlety of thought and can penetrate every surface or solid.

..

“Thus is formed the lily in the field.

“Hence, the coming of the glory of the world, here established.  And so my name is Hermes Three Times Great, three parts of this whole wisdom.

“Here is the action of the Sun in my Great Work.”

..

Birth into Hermes - Fall 1986

Birth into Hermes – Fall 1986

..

And here is a seminal meditation, a few years later.  I was reading The Virgin of the World:  “In the manifold way of universal life, the innumerable individualities distinguished by their variations are nevertheless united in such a manner that the whole is one, and everything proceeds from unity … Lend me now all the powers and penetration of your thought;  for the idea of Divinity which cannot be conceived save by divine assistance resembles a rapid stream precipitating itself onward with impetuosity, and often therefore outstrips the attention of the listeners, and even of him who teaches.”

Hermes Trismegistos, The Virgin of the World

… and this began to happen.  “My consciousness is but a point of space in familiar space – not the familiar body at all. 

“It came on while I was sitting at my untidy kitchen table, eating my supper and reading Hermes T, with household chores undone and chaos everywhere: my bum on seat.  All objects are, and every action is this limitlessness, this sacred space which opens within reality, home, within each spatial dot or point … every where … the point of it all.

“Into measureless depth of water float?  It is hard to leave the shelter of the rock and push off into that … (I want to.)

“Samadhi I suppose, must be when all the atoms, dots or points of no thingness open into incandescent and simultaneous Being. 

“It brought a slowly approaching hint (like just before dawn) of being that vibrant stillness alone, the soul or inner fact of the world, even though there are still thoughts and ego, etc.  It wasn’t possible to read or do anything for a bit.  The desire was to be itself quietly.  So I did.”

Journal September 1991

Hermes to his son Tat 1987 - with left hand

Hermes leads his son Tat into the light 1987 – with left hand

..

Now the Gene keys – my activation sequence: the 61st shadow is Psychosis – the normal tension of the mind, and the approved human condition, unaware of itself and fed by the media. Hermes is obscured. The Emerald Table says let obscurity fly from thee!

..

Great Hermes 1987

..

Last week everything was in pieces, and I kept crying.  It felt like a system re-set!

Hermes is Mind – cosmic Mind, higher human Mind.   This is the garden to cultivate: its simplicity.   Psychosis is always complex and tense with dark magic round every corner.   Mind is actually Space – as I used to try to tell my father, long ago. (61st Siddhi?).

How and when do I know space? spaciousness? It is when wherever I am, whatever I touch, wherever the centre of this is – is boundlessly alive, gently unbordered and self sustaining:  infinite.

Perhaps I don’t really ask Why any more;   since a long time ago I didn’t need answers, but I did and do need peace and contact – contact with the ineffable which is in the everyday things; the melting away of the mask which describes them – like a papier mache mould.   The papier mache falls away; I am through and through the earth, I am all of space which is the stars.   No night sky seen from Earth is dark. This IS the Holy of Holies.

Release from pressure is the driving force of this Key; converting to creative inspiration, it flows like a river. It exhales.

“The only way to release the pressure of the 61st Shadow is to step right into the heart of the pressure, rather than constantly trying to make it go away.” (RR)

Kreutzer Sonata Erupts - looking down into the street from the rooftops of my block of flats.

Kreutzer Sonata Erupts (1986)- looking down into the street from the rooftops of my block of flats: a gipsy violinist, a blind accordionist and a flute in the window.  (I was practicing the Kreutzer Violin Sonata at the time – the piano part – full of gipsy rhythms and passion.) Life was amazingly upheaved and yet coherent – see the calm passers by across the road

..

Through Inspiration, the false hold of the intellect is progressively loosened.

Not how, or why, but AS!

wei wu wei vi - story of owl & rabbit

See companion post to this one:
Leonard Cohen and Ramesh Balshekar

..

..

..

**

All art and creative writing in this blog is copyright © Janeadamsart 2012-2014. May not be used for commercial purposes. May be used and shared for non-commercial means with credit to Jane Adams and a link to the web address http://janeadamsart.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

